OR… Why you decided to shoot yourself in the foot.

As I’m writing this blog post in response to the topic of the same name discussed in this week’s lecture at SAE Brisbane I’ll do my best to refrain from simply repeating what was said.

What I will say is that I generally agree with most of the topics raised, such as low pay, long hours and having a general battle on your hands to secure a frequent work-flow being real factors anyone going into a creative industry has to face, regardless of your field of contribution. The concept of being an entrepreneur (or intrapreneur), making use of evolving trends and being your own teacher I feel are very sound advice in managing these issues. The essential theme is that we’re all in competition; not just with each other but with everyone else in the industry. That’s not to say that we can’t help each other out and create opportunities for each other, but there is always only so many chances to make money at any given time, and that dictates the pace.

I come to this degree from what was a very comfortable job in a service industry. The hours weren’t great (see: completely random and often around 70 a week), but it was well paid, reasonably secure and had good opportunities for employment. Good work for what it was and I still find employment casually, but not greatly fulfilling. The point I wish to make with this is that the creative media industry was never appealing based upon wealth that could be gained or of a want for more free time, it’s a move which comes entirely of wanting to persue a life focussed around a long-term passion.

So for how we are the same, I would say that those who aim to succeed in animation, film, sound or games likely feel the same. There’s a lot of hard work involved, your time largely belongs to the task at hand, whether compensated or not, and there’s no guarentee you’re ever going to gain the riches and power we all dream of with starry eyes.

Maybe, just maybe though, some of us will end up making something cool. I’d like a shot at that.

